Monday, October 23, 2017 Elyria 69°

The Latest

Lorain Council members sworn in; including Dennis Flores for his second go-around


LORAIN — Two new City Council members were sworn in Monday.

Councilman Dennis Flores, D-2nd Ward, regained the seat he had from 2007 to 2009. He defeated incumbent Councilman Andy Drwal in the May primary and ran unopposed in November.

Also sworn in was Councilman Tony Richardson, D-at-large, the top primary vote getter among at-large candidates with 3,922 votes or 26 percent. Richardson received 7,811 votes in the election, nearly 25 percent of the votes cast for at-large candidates. Richardson replaces Councilman Mitchell Fallis, who was elected to the Board of Education after a failed mayoral bid.

Drwal, a retired 31-year firefighter who chaired Council’s Police and Fire Committee, thanked residents and his family. In particular, his wife Lisa, “who’s put up with me these last two years.”

Drwal, a one-term councilman, said he was honored to serve and would continue to try to better Lorain.

“This is my hometown,” he said. “I’m not going anywhere.”

Fallis, a two-term councilman, also thanked constituents, saying they could continue to call him despite him no longer holding office.

“Without you making that phone call, we can’t do anything,” Fallis said.

The meeting was Tony Krasienko’s last as mayor. Krasienko, a one-term mayor, was defeated in the May primary by Mayor-elect Chase Ritenauer.

Krasienko, a six-term councilman before becoming mayor, cited investments by Republic Steel and U.S. Steel and the rejuvenation of the St. Joseph Community Center as some of his top achievements.

Contact Evan Goodenow at 329-7129 or

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…