Tuesday, October 24, 2017 Elyria 57°

Township races roundup: 2 controversial trustees defeated


Two controversial township trustees were defeated in elections Tuesday in Eaton Township and Wellington Township.

In Eaton Township, Trustee Douglas Edwards, who cut off public comment at trustee meetings for a period of time, was ousted in a five-way race. Incumbent Linda D. Morrison and township activist Donna J. Hicks were elected.

In Wellington Township, Calvin G. Woods, who unsuccessfully proposed purchasing a former Ponderosa restaurant for use as a township hall, was defeated, while Dale T. McAvena and former Westwood Elementary School Principal Nancy A. Fisher were elected.

In Eaton Township, Morrison received 1,293 votes or 36.4 percent and Hicks received 1,217 votes or 34.3 percent, according to unofficial returns. Former Eaton trustee Eugene Szczepanski received 414 votes or 11.7 percent and Edwards received 384 votes or 10.8 percent, while a fifth candidate, Roger R. Fitch, received 241 votes or 6.8 percent, according to unofficial returns.

In Wellington Township, Woods received 1,054 votes or 30.7 percent while Fisher received 1,254 votes or 36.5 percent and McAvena received 1,126 votes or 32.8 percent.

Morrison, who battled Edwards on township matters, hailed her victory and the victory of Hicks.

“We had a pretty good landslide,” Morrison said. “The residents stood up and said that residents have a right to be heard — it all boils down to trust.”

In Wellington Township, McAvena said he thought voters “were ready for a change.”

“I think buying the Ponderosa Steak House was a very bad idea,” McAvena said.

In other election news, Amherst Township candidates Dennis L. Abraham and Neil J. Lynch were elected in a four-way race.

In Brighton Township, George C. Greene and Chris Stanfield came out on top in a five-way race.

In Brownhelm Township, James W. Northeim and Orrin Leimbach were victorious in a three-way race.

In Camden Township, Gus Ristas and Scott Grills were elected in a three-way race.

In Carlisle Township, James L. Wright and Berry A. Taylor were the winners in a four-way race.

In Columbia Township, Henry R. Heidecker and Mike Musto won in a five-way race and Dale F. Rundle defeated Lonnie W. Blankenship for an unexpired term. In Elyria Township, incumbents William C. Holtzman and Robert C. Scheithauer were unopposed.

In Grafton Township, Thomas M. Giese and Michael T. Podulka beat out their opponents in a four-way race.

In Henrietta Township, Ronald W. Baumann and Joseph R. Knoble were unopposed.

In Huntington Township, Mary Beth Derikito and Walter C. Rollin were unopposed.

In LaGrange Township, Rita Canfield and Gary Burnett were the winners in a four-way race.

In New Russia Township, Patti Brubaker and Jack A. Hoyt were elected in a six-way race.

In Penfield Township, Richard J. Conrad and Duane R. Johnson came out on top in a four-way race.

In Pittsfield Township, Mark W. McConnell and Steve L. Magyar were unopposed.

In Rochester Township, Gerald Cowie and Bob Schatz were elected in a four-way race.

In Sheffield Township, Chad J. Parsons and Timothy S. Mihalcik won in a four-way race.

Contact Cindy Leise at 329-7245 or cleise@chroniclet.com.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…