Monday, June 25, 2018 Elyria 63°


Golden Helmet Award: Midview quarterback Dustin Crum more excited about team wins than all the records he set

  • 21471922

    Midview quarterback Dustin Crum smiles after receiving the Golden Helmet Award on Sunday during the team's banquet.



EATON TWP. — Midview’s Dustin Crum doesn’t like to talk about his individual accomplishments.

However, on Sunday there was no avoiding the topic after Crum was recognized as Lorain County’s best senior football player with the presentation of the Coca-Cola Golden Helmet Award at the Middies’ football banquet.

Crum was 173-of-279 passing this season with 32 touchdowns and just seven interceptions. He had another 14 touchdowns and a pair of 2-point conversions running the ball.

And he finished his career with the three best passing seasons in Midview history, throwing for 8,585 yards — 20th best all-time in the state — and 103 touchdowns.

This season, Crum, a Kent State commit, also set the school record for single-season rushing yards with 1,557. He ended his career with 3,447 rushing yards and 38 rushing touchdowns.

All totaled, Crum had 12,032 yards and 141 touchdowns. Still, the numbers he preferred to talk about were 32 and 4, the Middies’ record over the past three seasons.

“It’s an extremely great honor to bring the Golden Helmet Award to Midview,” said Crum, who gave the Middies back-to-back winners after Logan Bolin won a year ago. “It’s an awesome feeling. It’s not just about me, it’s a testament to this senior class and this football team and what we accomplished this year and over the past three years.

“That 32-4 record is huge to me. That’s probably my favorite accomplishment. That record is something I really take pride in. Growing up in this program I always had a lot of Midview pride. Something I really wanted to do over the past few years was give this community a team to be proud of.”

Crum was also named to The Associated Press All-Ohio Division I team three times, making first team after his junior and senior years.

When Midview coach D.J. Shaw was reading off Crum’s career numbers, he told the audience at the Midview cafeteria that one word kept coming to mind. That word was “special.”

“You don’t know what kind of competitive spirit someone has until you see them in a competitive situation,” Shaw said. “After the Lorain game in his sophomore year (his first varsity start), when he took us 85 yards down the field in the final two minutes to win the game I knew he was something special. I would never have dreamed it would have turned into 32-4 and three All-Ohio appearances but that’s a credit to Dustin and how hard he worked and how hard everyone on this team has worked over the last three years.”

Shaw described Crum as one of the “hardest-working, most prepared players” he’s even been around.

Crum’s father, Scott, was his quarterback coach at Midview.

The Middies only other Golden Helmet Award winner before Crum and Bolin was running back Dan Rozanski in 1999.

“I want my legacy to be to leave behind an example of how to carry yourself on and off the field and play the game the right way,” Crum said. “I told all of the other quarterbacks if you only take one thing from me, remember to leave it all on the field every Friday night. That’s the way Midview football, and football in general, is meant to be played.”

Contact Todd Shapiro at 329-7135 or


2016 — Dustin Crum, Midview quarterback
2015 — Logan Bolin, Midview wide receiver
2014 — C.J. Conrad, Keystone tight end
2013 — Jay Banyasz, Columbia quarterback
2012 — Tracy Sprinkle, Elyria defensive end
2011 — Matt Eckhardt, Avon wide receiver
2010 — Danny Reaser, Elyria Catholic quarterback
2009 — Anthony Hitchens, Clearview running back
2008 — Ryan O’Rourke, Avon quarterback
2007 — Mike Haddad, Avon Lake running back
2006 — John McGraw, North Ridgeville running back
2005 — P.J. Mahone, Elyria running back
2004 — Trey Stross, Avon Lake wide receiver
2003 — Jon Schroeder, Avon Lake running back
2002 — Dustin Intihar, Columbia running back
2001 — Brian Cesear, Amherst running back
2000 — Jeff Strauch, Avon Lake running back
1999 — Dan Rozanski, Midview running back
1998 — Matt Wilhelm, Elyria Catholic linebacker
1997 — Ryan Myers, Wellington running back and Erik Rogers, Vermilion
1996 — Zack Mitchell, Avon
1995 — Ricky Schneider, Amherst
1994 — Jerel Klue, North Ridgeville
1993 — Tim Schumacher, Avon Lake
1992 — Ty Grude, Firelands and LaRon Trice, Elyria West
1991 — Ron Leshinski, Vermilion
1990 — Erik Engel, North Ridgeville
1989 — Tony Godbolt, Elyria High
1988 — Steve Tovar, Elyria West linebacker
1987 — Tyrone Nelson, Elyria West tailback and Dennis Washington, Lorain tailback
1986 — David Lyons, Clearview, fullback
1985 — Jeff Seasor, North Ridgeville, linebacker
1984 — Al McKinney, Elyria Catholic, tailback
1983 — Brian Schneider, Elyria Catholic fullback and Bob Calamari, Admiral King quarterback
1982 — John Berner, Avon Lake tailback
1981 — Vince Villanucci, Lorain lineman
1980 — Jeff Mey, Vermilion halfback
1979 — Jon Burger, Elyria linebacker and kicker
1978 — Craig Best, North Ridgeville tailback
1977 — Bryan Thomas, Elyria Catholic tailback
1976 — Greg Jones, Elyria West tailback
1975 — Virgil Williams, Lorain halfback
1974 — Steve Holovacs, Firelands tailback and Tim Burns, Wellington tailback
1973 — Bruce Yeager, Elyria Catholic fullback-middle guard
1972 — Bob Hyatt, Keystone halfback and Gus Mecera, Clearview, two-way tackle
1971 — Ike Maxwell, Elyria tailback
1970 — Kurt Schumacher, Lorain, fullback-tackle
1969 — John Husband, Elyria fullback
1968 — Jim Svoboda, Lorain end-linebacker
1967 — Dick Wakefield, Avon Lake end
1966 — Ralph Holloway, Oberlin fullback-middle guard
1965 — Randy Stevenson, Elyria linebacker

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…