Sunday, May 28, 2017 Elyria 60°
Delivering to Lorain County 7 days a week


OHSAA announces 7 divisions for football, many local teams to see changes

Lorain County will have its first-ever Division VII high school football team next fall as Open Door has been officially listed among the eligible schools in an Ohio High School Athletic Association release.

The OHSAA has split the massive football pool into seven divisions for the next two years, with Elyria and Lorain being the only two county schools to land in Division I, which consists of schools with 608 boys or more enrolled between the freshman and junior classes.

Amherst, North Ridgeville, Midview, Avon and Avon Lake are in Division II (403-607); there are no schools in Division III (281-402); Vermilion, Keystone, Firelands, Clearview and Brookside are in Division IV (213-280); Wellington, Elyria Catholic, Black River and Columbia are in Division V (156-212); Oberlin is the lone school in Division VI (112-155); and the Patriots will be making their varsity debut in Division VII (111 and fewer).

Divisions II-VII will continue with four regions and eight playoff spots per region as has been the format for all divisions in the past, while Division I — which consists of 72 schools — will be broken into two regions (Northern and Southern) and there will be 16 playoff spots in each region.

Contact Shaun Bennett at 329-7137 or Like him on Facebook and follow him on Twitter.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…