Saturday, September 23, 2017 Elyria 66°


Lorain County Speedway: Shannon wins E-Mods


Bob Stascak
The Chronicle-Telegram

 SOUTH AMHERST  — Kent’s Joe Shannon took the lead on lap 11 and went on to win the 30-lap E-Mod feature Saturday night at Lorain County Speedway.
 Joe Coursen captured his fourth Limited Late Model feature, while 18-year-old Matt Wilson took the Street Stock feature victory. Kevin McCall made a last-lap pass to win the Chargers feature.
Shannon bolted past Grafton's Amber Gerken to take second in the E-Mod main, then got around early leader Jeff Gunter of Lorain for the lead.
Richard Smith spun in turn 3 in the E-Mod feature to bring out the yellow on lap 14, but Shannon opened up a huge lead over Gunter when action resumed.
Another yellow erased that advantage on lap 19 when Elyrian Rick Harmon spun in turn two. Elyria’s Rick Page used the restart to his advantage, getting by Wooster’s Brad Copen for fifth, then Gunter for fourth. That’s where his drive ended as he spun with one lap remaining.
Shannon cruised to the finish  under  green, white and checkered flags.


Fastest Qualifier: Matt Marlowe (Elyria) 14.99
Dash: Jim Blagg (N.Ridgeville); Mike Lawson (Grafton); Marlowe; Tigh Shaffer (Columbia Station)
Heat 1: Jeff Gunter (Lorain); Keith Allen (Westpark); Andy Hoskinson (Elyria); Jim Martin; Amber Gerken (Grafton)
Heat 2: Kurt Hennings (Cleveland); Brad Copen (Wooster); Rick Page (Elyria); Joe Shannon (Kent); Steve Klinect (Kent);
Heat 3: Rick Harmon (Elyria); T.J. Stineman (Lagrange); Blagg; Lawson; Marlowe
Feature (30 laps, 18 cars): Shannon; Gerken; Shaffer; Lawson; Stineman

Limited Late Models

Fastest Qualifier: Joe Coursen (Painesville) 16.34
Dash: Chuck Philips (Madison); Coursen; Ryan Gullatta (Brookpark); Mike Plas (Elyria)
Heat: Philips; Coursen; Brian McCall (N.Royalton); Plas; Gullatta
Feature (20 laps, 6 cars): Coursen; Philips; Gullatta; McCall; Tyler Johnson

Street Stock

Fastest Qualifier: Bill Sprague (Mentor) 16.94
Dash: Steve Harmon (Elyria); Matt Wilson (Walton Hills); Sprague; Bill Penn (Avon Lake)
Heat 1: Mike Kurz (Wellington); Randy Page (Elyria); Dan Lombardo; Danny Hawley; Jack Riffle
Heat 2: Joe March (Painesville); Wilson; Sprague; Steve Harmon (Elyria); Penn
Feature (20 laps, 11 cars): Wilson; Harmon; Sprague; Page; Kurz


Fastest Qualifier: Charlie Wells (Grafton) 18.79
Dash: Jerry Sivits (Bay Village); John Konzelman (Elyria); Andy McCall (Elyria); Wells
Heat 1: Mike Mathes (Elyria); Mike Moran (LaGrange); Todd Broski (Cleveland); Toots Hart (Elyria); Kenny Koester (Elyria)
Heat 2: Michael Parks (Vermilion); Sivits; Wells; Konzelman; A. McCall
Feature (15 laps): Kevin McCall; Wells; Konzelman; A. McCall; Buderer

Sandusky Speedway


Spectator Stocks

FASTEST QUALIFIER: Jeremy Champion 22.765
DASH: Justin Cranmore, Kevin Jaycox Jr., Champion, Devin Gibson; Heat: Champion, Jaycox Jr., Cranmore, Gibson, Julia Buckles; Crack the Whip: Champion; Feature:  Rained out

Pure Stocks

FASTEST QUALIFIER: Mike Sheppard 20.814
DASH:  Kenny Calhoun, Sheppard, Stephen Schlea, Gary Perram; HEAT: Schlea, Sheppard, Calhoun, Gary Perram, Jerry Karl; FEATURE: Sheppard, Schlea, Karl, Perram, Calhoun, Jeff Wilbur, Jason Rowe, Chris Burke, Jason Peterson


DASH: Greg Sharp, Sims, Roger Briere, Rollie Alvers; HEAT: Sims, Nick Buckles, G. Sharp, Briere, Alvers; FEATURE: Sims, Briere, Greg Sharp, Kenny Sharp, Buckles, Alvers, Howard Kelly, Ricky Grudier, Ron Calhoun

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…