Tuesday, May 30, 2017 Elyria 58°
Delivering to Lorain County 7 days a week


Prep football: Shoremen dominate All-Southwestern Conference awards

Southwestern Conference champion Avon Lake swept the special awards as the conference announced its 2007 football all-star teams.

Lorain County Golden Helmet recipient Mike Haddad was named most valuable player, while Dave Dlugosz was named coach of the year.

The Shoremen, who had a 10-0 regular season record and advanced to the Division II playoffs before losing in the second round, had a total of nine first-team players - six on offense and three on defense.




SCHOOL        SWC         OVERALL

Avon Lake        7-0        10-0

Brecksville        5-2        5-5

Olmsted Falls    5-2        7-3

North Olmsted    3-4        5-5

Amherst        3-4        4-6

Westlake        3-4        4-6

Midpark        2-5        2-8

Berea        0-7        0-10



Wide Receivers: Ryan Scherer (Avon Lake, sr.); Anthony Meriwether (Midpark, jr.); Tight End: Alex Jones (Brecksville, sr.); Tackles: Kamal Abed (Westlake, jr.); Matt Hevesy (Avon Lake, sr.); Guards: Cody Connare (Olmsted Falls, sr.); Sam Brown (Avon Lake, sr.); Center: Greg Uszak (Avon Lake, sr.); Quarterback: Nick Firment (Avon Lake, sr.); Running Backs: Mike Haddad (Avon Lake, sr.); Jamaine Cook (Midpark, jr.); Mike Varga (Olmsted Falls, sr.); Kicker: David Cantu (Amherst, sr.).


Ends: Sean Oxley (Avon Lake, sr.); Taylor Resparc (Brecksville, sr.); Linemen: Aaron Grunick (Avon Lake, sr.); Travis Clark (Brecksville, sr.); John Taylor (North Olmsted, jr.); Linebackers: Dave Henderson (Avon Lake, sr.); Nick Gessner (North Olmsted, jr.); Ryan McConnell (Westlake, jr.); Backs: Kyle Speicher (Westlake, sr.); Bryon Price (North Olmsted, sr.); Matt Jurcak (Olmsted Falls, sr.); Punter: Chad Tibbitts (Midpark, jr.).



Wide Receivers: Steve MacDonald (North Olmsted, sr.); Brandon Russo (Olmsted Falls, jr.); Tight End: Kevin Zellman (Midpark, sr.); Tackles: Ryan Udris (Westlake, sr.); Phil Bassani (Berea, sr.); Guards: Billy Nagel (Amherst, sr.); Zach Laird (Olmsted Falls, jr.); Center: Chris Wirkus (Brecksville, jr.); Quarterback: John Atkinson (Olmsted Falls, jr.); Running Backs: Jimmy Abed (Westlake, sr.); Josh Smith (Amherst, sr.); Jeff Tell (Avon Lake, sr.); Kicker: Bobby Grace (Midpark, jr.).


Ends: Brennen Muhic (Amherst, sr.); Nick Castenir (Midpark, sr.); Linemen: Aaron Winemiller (Amherst, sr.); Sean McCann (Avon Lake, jr.); Phil Eisner (Berea, sr.); Ryan Smugala (Westlake, jr.); Linebackers: Cody Wenrich (Amherst, jr.); Mike Lanigan (Brecksville, jr.); Cody Halko (Midpark, jr.); Backs: Kevin Mansnerus (Avon Lake, sr.); A.J. Carter (Brecksville, sr.); Jason Hadissch (Midpark, sr.); Punter: John Salter (Amherst, sr.).


Amherst: Desmine Burton (sr.); Josh Gonzalez (jr.); Avon Lake: Zach Murray (jr.); Dan Weimer (sr.); Berea: Ryan Theberge (sr.); Steve Elliot (sr.); Brecksville: Joe Youngs (jr.); Erik Snow (jr.); MIdpark: Tom Hopkins (sr.); Chad Tibbitts (jr.); North Olmsted: Cory Molnar (sr.); Matthew Vetrovskiy (sr.); Olmsted Falls: Mario Lassiter (sr.); Paul Print (sr.); Westlake: Chris Katsaros (sr.); Steve Maat (sr.).


Player of the Year: Mike Haddad (Avon Lake, sr.); Coach of the Year: Dave Dlugosz (Avon Lake).

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…