Saturday, September 23, 2017 Elyria 80°


Indians' Sabathia, Shapiro honored


CLEVELAND - The Cleveland chapter of the Baseball Writers` Association of America chose its annual season-ending award winners, naming Indians ace C.C. Sabathia "Man of the Year," and general manager Mark Shapiro "The Good Guy."

Sabathia, the American League`s Cy Young Award winner, won Man of the Year - an honor bestowed on the Indians` top player - in a close race with catcher Victor Martinez, who finished seventh in AL MVP voting.

Sabathia, the first pitcher to win the award since Jose Mesa in 1995 and the first starter since Bert Blyleven (1984), went 19-7 with a 3.21 ERA in 34 starts, leading the league in innings pitched (241), while ranking second in wins and complete games (4) and fifth in strikeouts (209).

Fausto Carmona, who went 19-8 with a 3.06 ERA in 32 starts to finish fourth in Cy Young voting, and Rafael Betancourt, the league`s top setup man, were also nominated for the award.

The Frank Gibbons/Steve Olin Good Guy Award is presented to a member of the organization that is considered friendly and cooperative with the media.

Shapiro, who makes himself available to the press on a regular basis, is the first general manager to win the award since voting began in 1968. Voting for Man of the Year began in 1946.

Pitchers Jake Westbrook and Joe Borowski and first baseman Ryan Garko were also nominated for Good Guy.

The BBWAA votes on all season-ending award winners, including each league`s MVP and CY Young honors.

Contact Chris Assenheimer at 329-7137 or

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…