Tuesday, September 26, 2017 Elyria 85°


Callipare, Sharp win at Sandusky Speedway


SANDUSKY — The second annual Buckeye Bandit Super Sprint Classic concluded at Sandusky Speedway on Saturday night as less than ideal weather prompted track drying twice before feature racing began.
Between the rain drops, Robert Callipare won his seventh feature of the season, the 4-Cylinder Spectator Stocks.
In the Sportsman feature, Greg Sharp held off Tom Clingan to score the win which gave Sharp a two-point lead over Clingan in the point standings.
The main event, the Buckeye Bandit Super Sprint feature, was up next and the winner was Todd McQuillen as rain forced the cancellation of the remaining laps of this event as well as the remaining feature races.
The 40-lap Buckeye Bandit Super Sprint feature started 24 cars chasing the $1,000 pay day.
Before a lap was recorded, the race was stopped as Bryan Scott slid on his side down the back straight off of Turn Four and Josh Burdette tagged the inside guardrail on the back straight.
Neither driver was injured and racing resumed with a complete restart following the necessary clean up.
Todd McQuillen led when the green flag dropped, followed by Chris Michael, Mike McVetta, Frank Neill and Dave Saxor Jr.
McQuillen opened up a sizable lead over Michael as he was into lapped traffic in short order.
With 15 laps in the books, the man on the move was the fastest qualifier and Friday night’s Non-winner Shootout winner Scott Hart.
Hart had moved into the third spot and was definitely closing in on Michaels.
Todd McQuillen’s lead evaporated when Zach Gibson tagged the back straight wall on Lap 25. The restart was McQuillen, Michael, Hart, McVetta and Neill.
Josh Burdette who was in the first lap mishap rejoined the field on this restart. The laps were counting down as the rain drops were coming down but McQuillen still held a sizable lead over Michael. The race was red flagged when Dave Saxor Jr. blew a motor on lap thirty two. During this lenghty clean up the cars were refueled.
When the race resumed, there would be only eight laps remaining and the question had to be — could Todd McQuillen hold off the competition to take the win?
The green flag dropped and, shortly, so did the yellow as John Patynko showered sparks into Turn One and came to a stop in Turn Two.
The rain resumed before the race could be restarted, only ultimately to be stopped.
Efforts to try to keep heat on the track surface were made, but to no avail as the rains persisted. The race was called off after 32 laps and McQuillen was declared the winner.
On Friday night, the Spectator Stocks ran a full program while the Buckeye Super Sprints ran a Non-winners Shootout, and qualified under the lights.
Robert Callipare was the winner of the 4-Cylinder Spectator Stocks feature while L.J. Stanley won the 6-Cylinder Spectator Stocks feature.
Scott Hart set a track record of 15.41 during Buckeye Super Sprint qualifying for Saturday’s events. Hart also won the 20 lap Non-winners Shootout.

Buckeye Super Sprints

Fastest Qualifier: Scott Hart (Sandusky) 15.41 (track record set Friday).
Dash: Frank Neill (Vickery); Hart; Tyler Dunn (Ashland); Todd Buchanan (Castalia)
Heat 1 (10 laps, top 7 advance): Dave Saxor Jr. (Vickery); Chris Michael (Lindsay); Jimmy Colvin (Bellevue); Jeff Gibson (Larue); Bryan Scott (Clyde); Trent Stephens (Ravenna); Ryan Gillenwater (Canton,Mich.)
Heat 2 (10 laps - top 7 advance): Todd McQuillen (Butler); Mike McVetta (Oberlin); Tim Buchanan (Marblehead); Josh Burdette (Fremont); Larry Shearer (Marion); Levi Youster (Toledo); Zach Gibson (Richwood)
B-Main (10 laps, top 6 advance): Paul Buckinigham (Plymouth); John Patynko (Fremont); Tom Tolbert (Columbus); Chuck Dagg (Fremont); Talon Stephens (Ravenna); Kurt Huber (Vermilion)
Feature (30 laps, $1,000 to win): McQuillen; Michael; Hart; McVetta; Neill


Fastest Qualifier: Rodney Saunders (Painesville) 19.398 (track record)
Heat 1:  Roger Briere (N.Ridgeville); Randy Dawson (Lexington); Nick Buckles (Medina); Dustin Stroup (Fremont); Gabe Kessler
Heat 2:  Tom Clingan (Eaton Twp.); Saunders; Greg Sharp (Port Clinton); Mike Sims (Marblehead); Kevin Wadsworth (Bellevue)
Feature: G.Sharp; Clingan; Sims; Briere; Saunders

Pure Stocks

Fastest Qualifier: Mike Sims 20.771
Heat 1: Justin Hamilton (Norwalk); Stephen Schlea (Avon); Gary Perram (Port Clinton); Jason Peterson; Mike Sims (Marblehead)
Feature: rained out

4 Cylinder Spectator Stocks

Fastest Qualifier: Robert Callipare (Sandusky) 22.481
Heat 1: Justin Cranmore (Mansfield); Callipare; Cory Rothacker (Elyria); Jim Morrison (Larue); Keegan Bartlome (Vermilion)
Feature: Callipare; Cranmore; Rothacker; Morrison; Glock

6 Cylinder Spectator Stocks

Fastest Qualifier:  L.J. Stanley (Lorain) 22.307
Heat 1: Tara Hart (Avon); Stanley; Joey Wyckoff (Amherst); Dan Hennig (Castalia); Kip Van Fleet (Bellevue)
Feature: rained out

Friday night

4 Cylinder Spectator Stocks

Fastest Qualifier:  Jason Rowe (Plymouth) 22.59
Heat 1: Robert Callipare; Justin Cranmore (Mansfield); Cory Rothacker (Elyria); Keegan Bartlome (Vermilion)
Feature: Callipare; Cranmore; Rothacker

6 Cylinder  Spectator Stocks

Fastest Qualifier: Joey Wyckoff (Amherst) 22.44
Heat 1: Wyckoff; Tara Hart (Avon); Kip Van Fleet (Bellevue); L.J. Stanley (Lorain); Dan Hennig (Castalia)
Feature: Stanley; Hart; Wyckoff; Hennig; Jason Hume

Buckeye Super Sprints

Fastest Qualifier for Saturday night: Scott Hart (Sandusky) 15.41
20 lap Non-winners Shootout: Scott Hart (Sandusky); Levi Youster (Toledo); Chris Michael (Lindsay); Ryan Gillenwater (Canton, Mich.); Tyler Dunn (Ashland).

Contact Bob Stascak at 329-7135 or ctsports@chroniclet.com.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…