Wednesday, November 22, 2017 Elyria 30°


ELECTION 2013: Familiar faces enter Lorain Council race


LORAIN — In heavily Democratic Lorain, the May primary is often the de facto election.

The list of candidates finalized Wednesday includes familiar faces challenging incumbents and running for open City Council seats.

AT LARGE: The Democratic candidates for the city’s three seats are: 10-term incumbent Democrat Dan Given, seven-term incumbent Anne Molnar and one-term incumbent Tony Richardson, all Democrats. The challengers include former Mayor Joseph Koziura, attorney, former Law Director Mark Provenza and Chris Olejko, son of the late former Mayor Alex Olejko. Chris Olejko unsuccessfully sought an at-large seat in 2011. No Republicans filed for a run at an at-large seat.

WARD 1: One-term Councilman Brian Gates, D, is unopposed in the primary but will be challenged by Libertarian Kendra Sheppard in November.

WARD 2: Two-term Councilman Dennis Flores, is being challenged by fellow Democrat Andy Drwal in May. Drwal, a retired firefighter, previously held the seat before being defeated by Flores in 2011.

WARD 3: Councilman Tim Howard, D, is running unopposed.

WARD 4: Roberta DiFilippo is running unopposed for the seat being vacated by four-term Councilman Bret Schuster, D.

OTHER WARDS: Eight-term Councilman Eddie Edwards, D-5th Ward, is running unopposed. One-term Councilman Richard Lucente, D-6th Ward, is being challenged by Democrat Martin Santo Leibas. Democratic challengers Mike Beatty and Joe Faga are running for the seat being vacated by three-term Councilman Miroslaw “Mickey” Silecky, D-7th Ward.

Faga has been endorsed by Lucente, who defeated Beatty by 12 votes in 2011.

“I always think I’ve got one more street to hit,” Beatty said. “If I can meet somebody face up on the street, I can convince them I’m their man. I’m the best candidate.”

Councilman Frank DeTillio, D-8th Ward, is running unopposed. DeTillio was appointed last month to replace four-term Councilman Craig Snodgrass, who vacated the seat to become Lorain County auditor.

Three-term Council President Joel Arredondo, also a Democrat, is running unopposed, as are six-term Lorain Municipal Court Judge Mark Mihok and Municipal Court Clerk Lori Maiorana.

Treasurer Karen Shawver is being challenged by fellow Democrat Anthony Haslage.

Contact Evan Goodenow at 329-7129 or

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…