Thursday, October 19, 2017 Elyria 49°


Rock Hall announces class of 2008


Madonna is in.

The Beastie Boys, however, will have to wait.

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announced its class of 2008 today. It includes the pop diva Madonna, who scored with such hits as “Like a Virgin” and “Material Girl” in the 1980s. She is joined in this year’s class by Leonard Cohen, The Dave Clark Five, The Ventures and John Mellencamp.

“From poetry to pop, these five acts demonstrate the rich diversity of rock and roll itself,” Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Foundation President Joel Peresman said.

With artifacts and videos, these artists will be enshrined in the Rock Hall and added to the growing list of rock and roll royalty. The official induction ceremony will be held March 10 in New York City and aired simultaneously on VH1.

Nominees this year that did not make the cut included punk rock and rap act The Beastie Boys, perhaps best known for its hit “(You Gotta) Fight For Your Right to Party.” Donna Summer, Chic and rap pioneer Afrika Bambaataa also were nominated, but did not make the final cut.


Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…