Tuesday, January 15, 2019 Elyria 24°

High School Sports

Volleyball: Avon, Amherst dominate Division I All-County team


It should be no surprise that Southwestern Conference co-champions Avon and Amherst dominated the 2017 Division I All- Lorain County volleyball awards.

Avon (22-3) had two first-team selections in Erin Gardner and Maddy Jerdonik, with teammate Sydney Stone earning second-team honors. Gardner (392 serve receptions, 299 digs, 27 aces) was named Player of the Year.

Gardner was also chosen by District 3 coaches to play in the Ohio State All-Star match after she plays in the District 3 All-Star game at Ellet High School on Nov. 17.

Tory Small and Sarah Weigand were first-team selections for Amherst (22-2), while Payton Jackson and Audrey McConihe were second-team picks. Head coach Laurie Cogan was named Division I Coach of the Year.

The other Division I first-team selections were Tate Rybarczyk and Emily Schillinger from Avon Lake, Elyria’s Chelsey Farris and Kara Sullinger from North Ridgeville.

Brookside (14-9) and its varsity roster of only seven girls placed three on the Division II first-team list — Lindsey Miller, Baylee Min and Lauren Sheehan. Leanna Barnhart earned second-team honors, with Jenn Larrick named Coach of the Year.

Vermilion’s Maddie Colohan and Reese Virgin were first-team selections. Virgin (303 kills, 231 digs, 37 aces) overcame a serious health issue prior to the season to earn Player of the Year honors.

Clearview’s Briana Cirilo, Firelands’ Hannah Reynolds and Amy Sobel from Keystone rounded out the first-team selections in Division II.

Columbia (13-11) led the way in Division III, with three first-team selections in Kaitlyn Krupinski, Hannah Paukovitz and Sarah Robinson. Krupinski (678 assists, 454 digs, 144 kills, 50 aces) was named Player of the Year and will also be playing in the state All-Star games.

Oberlin’s Sharhonda Rankin was chosen Division III Coach of the Year, with Karissa Rankin and Lauren Sands picked as first-teamers for the Phoenix.

Wellington’s Erin Frank and Alexis Lehmkuhl, along with Elyria Catholic’s Haley Raible, filled out the rest of the Division III first-team honorees.

The Division IV first-team selections all came from Lake Ridge Academy and Open Door, with Lake Ridge’s Sammie Ruggles chosen Player of the Year and the Patriots’ Dan Stintsman selected as Coach of the Year.

Ruggles was joined by teammates Annika Miller, Isabel Bouzaher and Lily Sweetman as first-team selections. Zelie Kessler, Emily Ford, Emerson Dobbins and Cailey Stintsman were first-team picks from Open Door.

Division 1

First Team

Tory Small Sr Amherst

Sarah Wiegand Sr Amherst

Erin Gardner Sr Avon

Maddy Jerdonek Jr Avon

Tate Rybarczyk Sr Avon Lake

Emily Schillinger Sr Avon Lake

Chelsey Farris Sr Elyria

Kara Sullinger Sr North Ridgeville

Second Team

Payton Jackson Sr Amherst

Audrey McConihe Jr Amherst

Sydney Stone Jr Avon

Natalie Appleton Jr Avon Lake

Madi Smith Jr Elyria

Seven Townsel Sr Lorain

Lindsey Frombach So Midview

Jami Turay Sr North Ridgeville

Player of the Year: Erin Gardner, Sr. Avon

Coach of the Year: Laurie Cogan, Amherst

Division 2

1st Team

Lindsey Miller Sr Brookside

Baylee Min Sr Brookside

Lauren Sheehan So Brookside

Briana Cirilo So Clearview

Hannah Reynolds Sr Firelands

Amy Sobel Sr Keystone

Maddie Colohan Jr Vermilion

Reese Virgin Sr Vermilion

2nd Team

Leanna Barnhart Brookside

Vanecia Billings Jr Clearview

Briana Bowyer Sr Firelands

McKenna Turton Sr Firelands

Macey Hartley Jr Keystone

Taylor Stefan Jr Keystone

Lauren Volzer Sr Vermilion

Player of the Year: Reese Virgin, Sr, Vermilion

Coach of the Year: Jenn Larrick, Brookside

Division 3

Kaitlyn Krupinski Columbia

Hanah Paukovitz Columbia

Sarah Robison Columbia

Haley Raible Elyria Catholic

Karissa Rankin Oberlin

Lauren Sands Oberlin

Erin Frenk Wellington

Alexis Lehmkuhl Wellington

Player of the year: Kaitlyn Krupinski, Columbia

Coach of the Year: Sharhonda Rankin, Oberlin

Division 4

First Team

Zelie Kessler So Open Door

Emily Ford So Open Door

Annika Miller Jr Lake Ridge

Alyssa Ruggles Sr Lake Ridge

Emerson Dobbins Jr Open Door

Cailey Stintsman Jr Open Door

Isabel Bouzaher Sr Lake Ridge

Lily Sweeterman Sr Lake Ridge

Player of the Year: Sammie Ruggles - So - Lake Ridge Academy

Coach of the Year: Dan Stintsman - Open Door

District 3 All Stars



COACH Tony Tahan Columbia

Libero Sarah Robison Columbia

Libero Hannah Reynolds Firelands

Setter Kaitlynn Krupinski Columbia

Setter McKenna Turton Firelands

Setter Kara Sullinger North Ridgeville

D/S Alyssa Ruggles Lake Ridge Academy

M/H Brianna Bowyer Firelands

M/H Hayley Raible Elyria Catholic

M/H Seven Townsel Lorain

O/H Hannah Pankovich Columbia

O/H Chelsey Farris Elyria

O/H Madi Sima Highland


WEST #2 7:30PM

COACH Courtney Dieter Black River

Libero Anna Coughlin Medina

Libero Hannah White Black River

Libero Baylee Min Brookside

Setter Lindsay Miller Brookside

Setter Erica Benson Black River

D/S Erin Gardner Avon

D/S Tate Rybanczyk Avon Lake

M/H Korall Gibson Buckeye

M/H Tory Small Amherst

O/H Emily Schillinger Avon Lake

O/H Alyssa Hudak Medina

O/H Sarah Wiegand Amherst

O/H Payton Jackson Amherst

Contact James Brady at 329-7135 or jbrady_ct@yahoo.com.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…