Sunday, April 21, 2019 Elyria 53°

The Blitz

High school football: Oberlin's Devan Yarber named offensive Player of the Year in Division VI

  • 22479447-1

    Oberlin High School's Devan Yarber triples as a running back, wide receiver and quarterback when needed.



Devan Yarber ran wild for Oberlin this season.

As a result, the Phoenix senior dual-threat quarterback was named the Division VI offensive Player of the Year in the Northeast Lakes District on Tuesday.

“It was a big accomplishment to win the award,” Yarber said. “I give all my credit to my offensive line and receivers putting in the work they did and it allowed me to do what I needed to do to win the award.”

Yarber helped Oberlin to a 5-5 record (4-1 in Patriot Athletic Stripes Division). The conference record was the best for the school since 2012.

“He’s one of the best players I’ve seen play,” Oberlin coach Mike Akers said. “He’s a huge part of Oberlin having its best PAC record in years and I’m proud of him.”

Yarber led the Phoenix with 1,542 rushing yards on 184 carries and scored 14 touchdowns. He was 34-of-78 passing for 622 yards, throwing seven touchdowns and six interceptions.

“My coaches believed in me this year,” Yarber said. “The coaches put me in a new position at quarterback this year and they told me I’m going to make mistakes at my new position. They also told me I’m going to make my teammates better.”

Yarber was joined on the first team by Oberlin’s senior offensive lineman Matthew Rasmussen, linebacker Ravon Eisom and defensive lineman Marquis Walker.

“They put in the work every day in practice,” Yarber said. “Those who came to practice, worked hard, and the young guys came into practice and worked hard as well.

“Since I’m a senior, it’s hitting me hard. I’m going to miss my brothers, my coaches and I’m going to miss the game.”

Columbia’s Brandon Coleman was a first-team selection in Division VI at running back. The junior rushed for 938 yards and 13 touchdowns before suffering a season-ending injury in Week 5.

In Division I, Lorain landed six players on the first team. On offense, senior running back Daylin Dower, quarterback Justin Sturgill and offensive lineman Rashaun Rogers were first-teamers, with Antonio Wyatt, Dakota Mincy and Tyshawn Lighty making it on defense.

Elyria linebacker Qwanda Woodson, who led the Pioneers with 114 tackles, was a first-team selection in Division I.

Amherst running back Khennedy Scagliozzo was a first-team selection in Division II. The junior rushed for a county-high 1,744 yards on 268 carries and scored 21 touchdowns.

Avon’s Chris Mullins (wide receiver), Jimmy McKenna (offensive lineman) and quarterback Ryan Maloy were first-team offensive selections, with Kyle Kudla (linebacker) and Todd Torbert (lineman) making it on the defensive side. The Eagles’ punter, David Orlando, was also named to the first team.

Firelands’ Nick Denney, Clearview’s Drew Engle and J.D. McCardle and Vermilion’s J.D. McCardle were named to the Division IV first team on offense. The Sailors’ Trevor Boyd, Tyler Bath and Seth Hurd were named first-team selections on defense. Bath led Lorain County with eight sacks and Hurd led the county with five interceptions.

Elyria Catholic had six players – Donovan Warfield (receiver), Zach Evans (tight end), Jack Decker (offensive lineman), Griffin Davies (defensive lineman), Andre Rodriguez (defensive lineman) and Leighton Banjoff (offensive athlete) – named to the first team.

Contact Tim Grattan at 329-7136 or Follow him @Tim_Grattan77 on Twitter.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…