Sunday, February 26, 2017 Elyria 31°
Delivering to Lorain County 7 days a week

Court Report

Girls basketball: Five from area pick up state honors

Three Lorain County players received special-mention honors and two were named honorable mention when The Associated Press All-Ohio girls basketball teams were released Monday.

Lorain’s Alexandria Harris and Elyria’s Mary Jones were special-mention selections in Division I, while Vermilion’s AuBree LaForce was special mention in Division II.

Honorable-mention honors went to Amherst’s Brooke Wallace in Division I and Clearview’s Desiree Ray in Division II.

Division III and IV selections will be released today.

Harris, a 6-foot-3 senior who will continue her playing career at Penn State, averaged 11.7 points and 12.6 rebounds. She also set a Lorain County record with more than 140 blocked shots and is the county’s career leader in blocked shots and rebounds.

Harris, the Division I county player of the year, was honorable mention All-Ohio last year.

Jones, a 5-6 senior, averaged 15 points, 5.3 rebounds and 3.7 steals, while leading the Pioneers in scoring, steals, assists and 3-pointers.

Wallace, a 6-3 sophomore, averaged 13 points and 10 rebounds.

LaForce, the county’s D-II player of the year, is Vermilion’s all-time leading scorer. A 5-2 guard, she averaged 16.6 points, 3.5 assists and 2.1 steals in helping the Sailors get to the district finals for the first time since 1995.

Ray, a 5-8 senior, averaged 13.1 points, 13.1 rebounds and 5.2 blocks in helping the Clippers go 17-6 and win the Patriot Athletic Conference Stripes Division title.

Associated Press Division I All-Ohio girls basketball team



Alexis Peterson, Cols. Northland, 5-7, sr., 28.6; Kelsey Mitchell, Cin. Princeton, 5-7, jr., 23.9; Ashley Morrissette, Twinsburg, 5-9, sr., 19.1; Kristen Confroy, Solon, 5-8, jr., 18.0; Keshyra McCarver, Tol. Whitmer, 5-10, jr., 17.7; Alyssa Rice, Reynoldsburg, 6-3, jr., 15.2.

Player of the year: Ashley Morrissette, Twinsburg.

Coaches of the year: Julie Solis, Twinsburg; Todd Sims, Perrysburg; Trish Kruse, Solon.


Taylor Agler, Lewis Center Olentangy, 6-3, jr., 15.2; Kelsey Peare, N. Canton Hoover, 5-9, sr., 13.0; Sarah Baer, Perrysburg, 6-1, jr., 13.2; Martha Thompson, Solon, 5-9, sr., 20.4; Lauren Stefancin, Mentor, 5-10, sr., 15.0; Kathryn Westbeld, Kettering Fairmont, 6-2, jr., 15.0.


Christy Macioce, Pickerington North, 5-11, sr., 13.9; Rachel Goddard, Wadsworth, 5-7, sr., 13.0; McKenna Stephens, Uniontown Lake, 6-0, sr., 14.0; Marquia Turner, Canton McKinley, 5-7, jr., 17.8; Tierra Floyd, Tol. Notre Dame, 6-0, soph., 10.9; Indiya Benjamin, Lima Sr., 5-4, jr., 16.9; Lynsey Englebrecht, Eastlake N., 5-6, jr., 18.8.

Special Mention: Quiera Lampkins, Gahanna Lincoln; Alexis Gassion, Fairborn; Kayla McDowell, Mason; Jillian Spurlock, Hamilton; Alexandria Harris, Lorain; Stasha Carey, Midpark; Mary Jones, Elyria; Sarah Kinch, Medina; Gabrielle Bulic, Brunswick; Megan Sefcik, Austintown Fitch; Hannah Boesinger, Hudson; Brooke Smith, Twinsburg; Alexis Stoops, Ashland.

Honorable Mention: Megan Beidelman, Lewis Center Olentangy; Yamonie Jenkins, Reynoldsburg; Kym Royster, Newark; Symone Simmons, Westerville North; Mya Walker, Lewis Center Olentangy Orange; Kenzie Howe, Zanesville; Jaida Carter, New Philadelphia; Alex Henning, Centerville; Imani Partlow, Cin. Winton Woods; Bianca Quisenberry, New Carlisle Tecumseh; Madison Temple, Cin. Anderson; Kelley Wiegman, Cin. Mother of Mercy; Ashley Frasure, Logan; Bri Dawes, Chillicothe; Ashanti Abshaw, Cleve. Hts.; Katie Battaglia, Cleve. St. Joseph Acad.; Catherine Rachek, Chagrin Falls Kenston; Brooke Wallace, Amherst; Alison Smolinski, North Royalton; Shannon Zajec, Mayfield Village Mayfield; Keesha Henderson, Cleve. Glenville; Porshae Hearn, Akron Kenmore; Julie Worley, North Canton Hoover; Bre Peterson, Massillon Washington; Alahna Singleton, Canton Timken; Jessa Gilberto, Cuyahoga Falls Walsh Jesuit; McKenzie O’Brien, Wadsworth; Char-dell Dunnigan, Twinsburg; Claire Ballard, Wooster; Kendall McCoy, Sylvania Northview; Michelle Murnen, Tol. Central Cath.; Kre’Ana Henry, Tol. Waite; Nicole Muehl, Findlay; Kaayla McIntyre, Tol. Notre Dame; Dierra Bluester, Mansfield Senior.



Tajanee’ Wells, Cols. Eastmoor Acad., 5-8, sr., 16.5; Ana Richter, Oxford Talawanda, 6-1, jr., 18.5; Sabrina Mangapora, Canfield, 6-1, sr., 18.5; Vanessa Smith, Shaker Hts. Hathaway Brown, 6-1, sr., 16.7; Erica Dawson, Marietta, 5-9, sr., 28.0; Amanda Cahill, Clyde, 6-1, jr., 22.2; Laina Snyder, Millersburg W. Holmes, 6-1, jr., 15.7.

Players of the year: Amanda Cahill, Clyde; Vanessa Smith, Shaker Hts. Hathaway Brown.

Coaches of the year: Ryan Orshoski, Bellevue; Lisa Patterson, Millersburg W. Holmes.


Brittany Atkinson, Granville, 5-5, sr., 18.4; Bre Berryman, Wintersville Indian Creek, 6-5, soph., 22.2; Megan Donohue, Akron Hoban, 6-2, sr., 17.2; Char’Ron Sweeney, Tol. Rogers, 5-2, sr. 14.6; Emma Hostetler, Shelby, 5-7, sr., 20.2; Nia Marshall, Shaker Hts. Hathaway Brown, 6-0, sr., 15.5; Katlyn Spahar, Mentor Lake Cath., 5-9, sr., 18.0; Trischa Lacy, Urbana, 5-10, sr., 30.3; Cara Cook, Norton, 5-8, sr., 18.5;


Andi Daugherty, Warsaw River View, 6-0, jr., 19.0; Kyleigh Wyeth, Lancaster Fairfield Union, 5-9, sr., 12.2; Alli Pavlik, Cortland Lakeview, 5-6, jr., 24.1; Carly Santoro, Bellevue, 5-9, soph., 25.4; Hallie Thome, Chagrin Falls, 6-4, soph., 17.8; Becky Depp, Geneva, 5-4, sr., 13.0; Dominique Doseck, Athens, 5-7, soph., 20.1.

Special Mention: Renee Cheeks, Cols. Brookhaven; Tory Minton, Utica; Jaana Motton, Cols. Hartley; Darian Apperson, McConnelsville Morgan; Emily Masloski, Steubenville; Taylor Lowdermilk, Carrollton; Sydney Brackemyre, Clarksville Clinton-Massie; Josie Buckingham, New Richmond; Erin Dorn, Bellbrook; Alexis Overly, Chillicothe Unioto; Madison Ridout, Jackson; Lydia Poe, Jackson; Deidre McKay, WCH Miami Trace; Anna Voris, Lancaster Fairfield Union; AuBree LaForce, Vermillion; Katie Smith, Fairview Park Fairview; Melinda Trimmer, Beloit West Branch; Shayna White, Ravenna Southeast; Jordan Korinek, Akron SVSM; Kaitlin Vari, Richfield Revere; Lizzie Wilkinson, Peninsula Woodridge; Kayci Krzynowek, Akron Manchester; Emily Ruhe, Lima Bath.

Honorable Mention: Carli Codner-Pinto, Cols. DeSales; Alyssa Dean, Cols. Centennial; Taylor Dush, Utica; Abby Guinther, Caledonia River Valley; Cassi Stein, Newark Licking Valley; Katie Prince, Dresden Tri-Valley; Mallary Trout, Philo; Moriah Monaco, Dover; Kelsie Kirkbride, Zanesville Maysville; Vada Clemens, McConnelsville Morgan; Hallie Stocker, Cambridge; Megan Galloway, Greenville; Kylie Garrett, Mount Orab Western Brown; Elizabeth Haley, Dayton Oakwood; Paige McCrary, Springfield Kenton Ridge; Natalie Stoeppel, Norwood; Taylor Saxton, Circleville Logan Elm; Molli Shaw, WCH Washington; Brett Justice, South Point; Emma Ryan, Vincent Warren; Emma Stanley, Athens; Caitlyn Owings, McArthur Vinton County; Jordanna Rauch, Vincent Warren; Sydney Wycinski, New Lexington; Shania Massie, Greenfield McClain; Abby Schwenk, WCH Miami Trace; Brianne Goodrich, Chesterland West Geauga; Liz Karako, Mentor Lake Cath.; Kim Cook, Parma Hts. Holy Name; Desiree Ray, Lorain Clearview; Mariah Pearson, Painesville Harvey; Lindsey Mayle, Geneva; Rachel Holowecky, Firelands; Aleah Hughes, Poland Seminary; Pavin Heath, Beloit West Branch; Shannon Jack, Akron SVSM; Alex Klein, Akron Manchester; Ashley Tyna, Cuyahoga Falls CVCA; Jaclyn Fortner, Norton; Camryn Brown, Richfield Revere; McKenna Shives, Struthers; K’Shawna Barnett, Tol. Woodward; Sasha Dailey, Tol. Rogers; Alyssa Reed, Wauseon; Kylee Bader, Celina; Katie Stahl, Celina; Tiffany Colston, Port Clinton.

Click to view comments
To Top

Fetching stories…